animated movie Bambi © Disney

Reviews for Bambi

3.86 stars / 21 ratings
page: 1 | 2
lonely_princess's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 106

lonely_princess' Review

rated it:
posted: Jun 17, 2016
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Firstly I want to point out I never cried when Bambi's Mum got shot as she was used too many times in other films such as Jungle Book and Rescuers to name a few to make me beleive she was really dead when I was a child.

Now thats over with lets get on with the review shall we.

Animation wise this is absolultly stunning its like watching a work of art. Except sometimes theres confusion whether they want realistic looking characters e.g The Great Prince or cartoony ones e.g Thumper. The backgrounds are the best I have ever seen in an animated film to the point I wish I could remove the action and watch them instead.

Musicly this is beautiful especially my faverite background music of any film "The Gallop Of The Stags". The songs are nice though the singers can get a bit too operatic at times thank God for subtitles.

Story wise this is a nice coming of age story though like the Nostalgia Critic said after Bambi's Mum is shot and he meets up with his Dad we are hardly given time to take it in when they start bombarding us with happy thoughts so it felt like we wernt given time to breathe and take it in.

I highly recommend this film

Serra20's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 8

Serra20's Review

rated it:
posted: Apr 25, 2016
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Work of art in motion. Well, I guess all animated movies are like that haha, but this one really feels like a painting in motion. Honestly, everything about this movie showcases the best of animation of its' time.
Backgrounds are fantastic. They are not artificially brightened and don't have any special effects on them to look more ''cheerful'' or anything, no. They are natural, blend in well, excellently conveying the monotone, slice of life feeling of the depths of the forest, and they don't overwhelm the characters while still being gorgeous to look at.
Animation is excellent, smooth and natural looking.
However, what really stands out is the music. It's powerful and emotional, portraying and complimenting the situation really well.

This film didn't need words, action and dialogue to succeed. The emotion in it and obvious dedication behind it does the job.
Masterpiece.

Bambiboy14's avatar
Newcomer
Reviews: 1

Bambiboy14's Review

rated it:
posted: Jul 07, 2012
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Perhaps the first animated film to actually, "Touch" My heart.

"I went to bed the other night. it was 2/25/2012. The dream was, I was Bambi. It was VERY Strange. but when I woke up the following morning, I wanted to do research on the film. for the next 3 hours or so, I was watching clips, Trailers, music, and overall, EVERYTHING from the first Bambi movie. I really wanted to see it. I went to best buy, and picked it up for 20$. I saw it Monday night. and.....Wow. It was....jeez... Amazing. this one, and Bambi II, Are perhaps the only Disney movie I like. However, I will point out the negatives, and Positives.

POSITIVES: Film is very cute and sweet, Animation is one of the best I've seen. considering it came out in 1942. The ending is....Woo.....wow..

NEGATIVES: The
overall, This is movie is touching, Cute and overall brilliant. Bambi is arguably the best Disney movie ever made. My Rating, 9.9/10.

CW's avatar
Reviewing Ninja
Reviews: 51

CW's Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 30, 2012
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

When Disney made Fantasia, their original concept was to make a single Silly Symphony and they ended up making a feature film that was full of various short symphonies. While watching Bambi recently, I got the impression that the film was meant to be one long symphony, for music played such a large part to the narrative. Aside from Fantasia, it seemed like the music in each movie was incidental to the action; it was just there, waiting for the next actual song so that it could be of some use. It gave a body to the film without taking centre stage. But when I watched Bambi, I found myself really listening for once. Like how one marvels at the flowing of Pachelbelís Canon in D or enjoys the gentleness of Debussyís Clair de Lune and its representation of the night, if I closed my eyes I could hear a deerís movement in the orchestrations of the film. Light, graceful, kinda wobbly at first. The forest was full of music and it was ours to enjoy just as much as it was Bambiís.

And not just the sounds, but the sights were something to behold as well! The setting of Bambi was lush and beautiful, as you would expect from a movie that took place in a forest. Everything was green and full of life, so beautifully animated it made me wonder why anyone ever decided that hand-drawn animation is dead. If Bambi was the kind of movie that we as a human race were capable of making 70 years ago, just think of what we might be able to accomplish today.

I suppose weíd be better able to consistently colour the background characters. The majority of the cast, the artists seemed to have no problem applying the correct colours to, but Thumperís siblings kept altering their coats. During one scene, it looked like Thumper had three darker-furred siblings and two lighter-furred ones. As the scene continued, the darker-furred siblings somehow ended up with lighter fur, then some of them reverted to darker fur, and so on for the duration. Still, it was a minor quibble when the majority of the movie was wonderfully illustrated.

But alas, both the aural and visual stimuli hid a story that slapped you upside the head with anti-human propaganda. I think I can see why, though. Suppose you gave a herd of deer sentience and plopped them in the middle of a forest full of sentient rabbits and ducks and owls and frogs and anything else you can think of. This is a forest where each and every animal is living in harmony away from the influence of other predators. (Wait, whatís the owl supposed to eat? News flash, Disney: owls are predators.) Now introduce a species into the area who doesnít respect life and who tries to take it away as often as he can. Itís easy to see why the creatures of the forest had such a low opinion of man.

The movie unfortunately showed us only one side of man. Man is apparently a creature capable only of carelessly destroying everything around him (as shown when flames swept through the forest caused by an unattended bonfire), whose only purpose in life is to shoot at and kill anything that moves. While all the animals in the forest, even the owl, lived in peaceful harmony with each other, humans were the only characters shown to take lives during the entire film.

Then again, humans hadnít exactly been portrayed as very sympathetic before Bambi. From the boys at Pleasure Island in Pinocchio to the entire human cast of Dumbo, itís not like weíd had any reason to assume the best whenever a non-animal character appeared. Itís only natural that we were made the main villain of the otherwise all-animal Bambi.

Itís interesting that, not counting Fantasia, three of the first four movies of the Disney Animated Canon started with the birth of the titular character. Each movie followed its character as he (it was always a he, for some reason) explored the world and found his place in it. Pinocchio learned from his mistakes and in one shining moment of selflessness, he proved that he deserved to have his wish to be human granted. Dumbo discovered his hidden talent, which somehow redeemed his mother, and they enjoyed a heartfelt reunion.

Bambi, though, was content to just explore. He saw the world around him and had fun learning how to live, but that was the majority of the film. The first time he opened his eyes, you couldnít help but wonder what he was thinking. What is this place, filled with so many wonders?

Then, about halfway through the movie, tragedy struck and everyone spent maybe one or two minutes dwelling on it before moving on. I guess since Bambiís innocence ended that day, his childhood was considered to have ended as well, and so the next time we saw him, he was a full grown adult with a rather goofy adult male voice. Oh yeah, and Bambiís friends, the shy and effeminate (yet still male) skunk named Flower, and the loudmouthed rabbit Thumper both got equally goofy adult male voices.

Interestingly enough, now that Iím on the subject of the adult lives of the main cast, I think I may have found yet another candidate for the Inappropriately Sexy Cartoon Characters list. Sure, Disney had a fixation with inappropriately sexy fish in Pinocchio and Fantasia, but in Bambi it was an unnamed rabbit doe that flirted quite openly with the viewer while supposedly only flirting with Thumper.

I struggled to figure out how I wanted to rate this movie. The visuals alone were worth all four stars, minus a quarter star for the fluctuating colouring of Thumperís siblings. I took away a half a star for the way man was portrayed as a one-dimensional villain (even though at times the redneck population of the United States can be described exactly as such). And I took away another quarter star for the lack of a real story, but then granted a half a star back because I didnít feel the movie needed more than what it delivered.

And there you have it. You can think of it however you want, either as a four star movie that might not be as good as others, or the best three star movie youíll ever see. After doing the math, I ended up giving the movie three and a half. It was certainly the best Disney had to offer during their first five years or so of operation.

waahnimated's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 7

waahnimated's Review

rated it:
posted: May 24, 2009
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Ive only just seen this film, so there is no nostalgia cloud here. This is a beautifully animated film. Amazing, and the technology with the multiplane still holds up today.
However, the kids acting in the first part of the film is a real pain to sit through. The story itself is about 40 exposition and musicals 30 running away from something and 30 story/characterization. The only thing that kept me going was the animation quality.
A real bore and kids might like it. :|

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188

J-Kitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Apr 01, 2008
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Not many people today know of the name Felix Salten author of Bambi. But I have through this film (like many people) and I am thinking of reading the original book including the sequel "Bambi's Children." Also I'm also a deer lover. This film is beautifully animated and directed by Dave Hand (Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs).

My favorite scene from the film are when Thumper is teaching Bambi how say "bird" like teaching a foreign child (no matter from which country) English. I also when Bambi first meets Faline. Even to animal kids boys have their issues with girls. And I love the scene in Spring, when Friend Owl tries to shoo the birds away who were singing, and when he examples to grown-up Bambi ,Thumper and Flower about being "twitterpated." So overall, I really love this film.

The Great Dragon's avatar
Reviewing Ninja
Reviews: 57

The Great Dragon's Review

rated it:
posted: Jul 19, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Say to a bunch of people, "Hey! Wanna watch Bambi?" and not a complaint will come.

I will admit that this movie is extremely good, but not quite worthy of the four stars it's been getting. Given it's old, the animation looks a little paint-y, if you get my meaning. But it was astounding. For the 1940's, this was the best animation available. The multi-panel shots especially. Those were the days.

Heart warming and breaking at the same time, the story had humor and charm, and the characters were quite funny. I liked the "Twitterpated" scene. Good laughs have come of that one in our family.

This is a classic that you just have to own.
I don't know anybody who hasn't seen Bambi.

wildanimals's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 47

wildanimals' Review

rated it:
posted: Jul 15, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

You'd have to have a heart of stone not to fall for Bambi. For me, it's Walt's crowning achievement, and when I watch it today, it still gives the same feeling of nostalgia as it did when I was six years old. In fact, I find even more thought-provoking than I did when I was a child.

But what is it that makes Bambi stand out for me? There's magic here alright, but not the fairy magic like in so many other Disney films. There's humans, but they never appear on screen. I think that I was captivated by the way the musicians, the animators and the artwork all become synchronised, like the natural sounds of a real forest. What makes Bambi so wonderful is the feel of being so close to nature. During the scene where it starts to rain, we see Bambi's fascination with the little raindrops. As each little drop lands softly on something, we hear a little note from the orchestra. It is just so well synchronised, and it shows just how much love and dedication was put into it.

Also, Bambi flawlessly flips from mood to mood. We watch a scene that is sad, dark and melancholy. It all fades to black, and we are greeted with something light hearted, colourful and joyful. In many other films, something like that would stick out like a sore thumb, but somehow, in an almost magic way, that does not happen with Bambi.

What really annoys me is when I see people bash Bambi and call it 'anti-hunting pro-PETA trash.' I'm sure that when dear old Walt made this, he had nothing of the sort in mind. It also annoys me when I see people making a big deal out of one of the most touching and heartbreaking scenes in Bambi. (you know the one I'm talking about!) Sure, it's a poignant scene, but it is also only one tiny fraction of the actual film. So why must people take the Mick out of it, if there is no Mick to take? (That doesn't sound right!)

If you are fed up of the huge amount of CGI that's lost its novelty years ago, then pick up a two disc Special Edition DVD of this lovable classic, before Disney locks it up again.

AkiStar's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 12

AkiStar's Review

rated it:
posted: Mar 06, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Occasionally I see reviewers summarize Bambi as "A cute, simple story about a deer in the forest". Normally whenever I see this statement or one similar to it, I just skip the review all together. Trust me. That is about the most misleading thing a reviewer can say about this particular movie. It's much more complicated than that; Bambi pretty much covers all aspects of life: Birth, innocence, discovery, friendship, survival, loyalty, love, and of course, death. The movie begins with Bambi's birth and as the movie progresses we see Bambi's childlike innocence, while he discovers the world around him and develops friendships. And after Bambi and his mother are trying their best to survive the harsh winter, Bambi learns of loss. The scene where his mother dies is normally the thing people remember most about Bambi, and for a good reason. As Bambi starts walking away with his father and that scene starts to fade out, Bambi's childhood comes to an end. It truly is one of the greatest coming-of-age stories.

Then there's the animation and the music of Bambi. Whether it's a small chime in sync excuisitely with a raindrop or a full orchestra set to the big forest fire at the end, they both are so perfectly blended together that it almost feels poetic and really sets the emotional feel to the film.

It's one of the most honest films I have ever watched. There is simply nothing sugar-coated about it. Not once does this movie talk down to you. It doesn't need to. It's a beautiful film that revolves around the joys and tragedies of life. And just like life, as Bambi's story ends, a new story always begins.

I love this film. It's my favorite from Disney and probably always will be.

starlac's avatar
KF Managing Editor
Reviews: 226

starlac's Review

rated it:
posted: Sep 16, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Every animator who knows even the slightest aspect of their industry, just hopes that they can get to be as half as good as Disney animators at the top of their game. Then again Bambi wasnít just them at the top of their game, it is their top achievement full stop IMHO and the benchmark to which all other animation has had to live up to since. Many have tried and failed, even with the technology at the animatorís disposal these days none are able to touch this film for sheer scoop of artistry.

Back then of course, the Disney animators were the ones nobody could touch let alone beat: as they were highly trained in their techniques and with larger budgets than any other studio. Walt had set up art classes to train his boys since the days before Snow White. Live models (human, plant and animal) to scan and sketch, lessons designed to teach the artists about reality and to draw out that reality of motion onto the drawing board. These life drawing and motion studying classes are in effect the life-blood of this level of quality animation. No amount of polygons or high definition special effects can match the simplicity of an artist with a pencil; especially a Disney one in the height of what is referred to as the corporations Golden Age.

The Silly Symphonies also provided a immensely important training ground for this film, which is essentially the final product of that entire body of work; At times watching Bambi is like watching a moving painting, a true piece of art. The Silly Symphonies like The Old Mill where the dress rehearsal to this: the main act. Kept back over the years to allow for itís blossoming while the simpler Dumbo and brasher Pinocchio sped past it in the production line.

Bambi was one of the first (not the first) of the major Disney films to put it supervising animators in charge of entire scenes rather than individual characters; the result is a cohesiveness of motion that is unlike almost anything that ever came before or arguably since. As such everything is scene becomes a logical progression to what has occurred before, any problems that may have become raised using this method are evaporated by the filmís length and the aging of the characters.

I spent a good part of my childhood going to a place called Knole Park, a beautiful part of South East England that has wild deer running freely, so use to the human visitors that they where quite content with us alien interlopers being amongst them; in spite of the fact that the park was once a deer hunting reserve (actually anyone bringing a picnic would find these wonderful creatures more were determined than Yogi Bear to get their share). Their graceful movements and sheer muscular power are hard to ignore when they are two feet away, with nothing between you and them.

I donít think this film was as appreciated as much as it is today back that day when it was released; it certainly didnít make much money on its initial release. mind you with the world going on a vital part of the market cut of (i.e. the whole of Europe), there was very little a film of this costly nature could.

Lupercal mentions the fact that it would take eight years for Disney to make another one story film. Yet this was really a result of the war and the effects it had on the available markets more than any creative leanings. Disney decided to postpone Ďtrueí features for fiscal reasons, he was running a business after all. The films made from multiple shorts piled together were cheaper to make compared to a straight feature; since they didnít required anywhere near as much pre-production.

SpoilerÖ

Thereís no getting away from the fact that Bambi is a work of art, from the lust backgrounds, gently airbrushed to perfection; to the little details of the motion of animal movement. Yet that is only part of the picture the ĎSlice of Lifeí story it tells has plenty of merit in itself. From Bambiís first days in the forest, learning the difference between bird and butterflies, though not between flowers and skunk (For the record the skunk adopts the name after Bambi mistakenly calls him one). The glories of the open meadow that hides nothing, a beautiful place that can be deadly; and the death of Bambi mum there marks the first real tear-jerker in Disneyís run; something that would become a tradition.

Spoiler EndsÖ

Disney knew how to mix music and animation together seamlessly, April Showers is one of the most iconic songs to come out the Disney cannon. There is little dialogue in the film, but that is something that Bambi has in common with the two films that preceded it. Apart for that similarity the first films that Walt made until the war are very different from each other, yet this one has stood the test of time and will probably do so indefinitely.

In a very true sense this is one Classic animated film that has held up to time; one which others and I hold up to judge other films byÖ

Additional: I recently watched the latest release of this on my DVD copy (for the purpose of this review of course), the difference is that I watched the film with the cutlets of the meetings Disney had when planning the film out on. How many other classic Disney films would, or will get this treatment? In a roundabout way itís as if the film has been given a DVD commentary by Disney himself, insightful and fascinating to listen to; a marvellous part of a great edition.