animated movie Anastasia © Don Bluth / Fox

Reviews for Anastasia

3.33 stars / 24 ratings
page: 1 | 2
koalabear2000's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 18

koalabear2000's Review

rated it:
posted: Mar 21, 2012
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

i do say this film is one of a kind. i saw this film like 9 years ago with my cousin. my favorite song from the film was, "journey to the past." it reminded me of "somewhere out there," from an american tail. anastasia is the best! i reccomend some kids who are younger to watch it!

Question's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 42

Question's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 28, 2011
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Most of the time, this kind of Princess movie would have never gotten my interest, but this movie really got to me.

The characters were amazing, I'm glad Anya was there, not just some female added just cus'. And Dimitri was awesome, the diolage between them was really good.

Puka I didn't care for, but he isn't really in the movie too much so I won't knock off a point.

The only thing that I disliked about the movie was Rasputin's bones and what not. It made me cringe.

The music, ahhh the music. :-) So lovely, I really like Once upon a december, it's just what the film needs.

I give full credit for the music.


The animation is amazing here, Its just really good. They did their research if anyone watches the special features. And the plot? Its very intresting. This is a very tragic moment in history, its not just something you make a film out of, and I am GLAD they changed it up. ;-; The true story was depressing. (And at the time they did the film, they had not discovered what happend Anastasia's body, just a "FYI")

emily123's avatar
Newcomer
Reviews: 1

emily123's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 28, 2011
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I had only recently seen Anastasia through Netflix when I was on vacation, and it's easily won my heart ever since. I had first mistakened the movie to be from Disney, because everything was fantastic in story and quality. The animation, characters, effects, music, and feeling of the movie was perfect. Usually animation can be a bit skippy, but this film's animation was very smooth and fit in with the realistic image of a live film. The personalities of the character's expressions and voices were spot on and enjoyable. I loved how Anastasia and Dimitri constantly acted towards each other from beginning to end, and how their feelings changed for each other throughout the film. I'm also usually not one for romances, especially in animation, but I fell in love with this one. I'm a fan of Anastasia x Dimitri, they're an excellent couple. The sarcasm throughout the movie was a winner for me, too.

Now, usually I don't like the soundtrack animated movies give out. I tend to like skipping over scenes where a character decides to break out into a musical out of nowhere. However, Anastasia came across differently for me. I love both the music sung directly and/or indirectly from the characters, which is not often. Lately I have been going through an obsession with Anastasia and the music was a key point for me. I loved to listen to all of the songs multiple times.

Each character created an outstanding part in the film. I feel each other, even the cameos, had a very good story and plot to be in there. Even Puka, who played the creative part as a sign for Anastasia to go back to her old town. The characters were fun to watch and carried out a great emotion, which can be hard to do sometimes.

Overall, Anastasia is an outstanding film that warms the hearts of many. It's typically an unnapreciated film, but it deserves all of the respect and praise it can get. I can personally say, even though Anastasia is not a Disney princess, I still count her as my favorite princess if I'm ever asked. Anastasia is also one of my favorite romances, animations, and overall films of all-time.

CartoonLover's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 40

CartoonLover's Review

rated it:
posted: Apr 12, 2009
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Anastasia Was The Best. The Song Rasputin Sunged Makes Me Scared When I Was A Little Kid. The Battle Was The Best. The Part Where Anastasia Destroys The Reliquary Which Caused Rasputin To Turn To Dust Was Pretty Great. Good Thing He Won't Be Hurting Anastasia Ever Again. Anastasia Is The Best Animated Don Bluth In The Whole World.

jess116's avatar
Newcomer
Reviews: 1

jess116's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 12, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I never get tired of this movie. Some people complain that it's not historically correct, which is true it isn't entirely correct, but if it was - it wouldn't make a very good KIDS movie would it! Too scary. This has just the right amount of scariness in it!
The voice cast is brilliant, Meg Ryan gives so much personality to Anastasia and makes her so likable! And John Cusack as Dimitri is perfect, and Dimitri's character is believable and endearing, and you can't help loving him even though he's a bit of a crook.
I don't think this movie got anywhere near as much credit as it deserved, it really just has the perfect recipe. The songs are lovely and memorable, i sing them constantly... the animation is ..well, not perfect! But that really adds to the character's believability if that even makes sense.. it's a style, and its really cool. I just love everything about this movie, can't speak highly enough of it.

Firefly's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 36

Firefly's Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 22, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I remember watching part of this film when I was in 1st grade when it was released. I was about 6 then. But I only saw up to before the train goes loopy and flys off the track. I recently saw the movie from beginning to end creds and totally loved it! I can still remember one particular song, 1) because I sang that song for the Christmas Concert at my school in 5th grade, 2) because I liked it. As a matter of fact, I am listening to the soundtrack as I am typing this. What brought me to remember this film and to write this review was my History class. We've just entered WWI and the Russian Revolution and then POP! Anastasia came to my head. This was an awesome movie and I would suggest people to watch it and love it or else. Pity me... I don't own the movie. I could always borrow my riend's but her's is in VHS and my VCR died:( I could always order it in dvd...[blah, blah, blah...].....
The soundtrack was beautiful. Personally I think that animated movies these days are *bleh*-- for lack of a better description. But this movie...wow. The music suited the film beyond well unlike other movies where the song and/or entire soundtrack was never specificly made for the film. That goes for live-action films to. They (whoever "they" may be) just stick a song into the movie and don't really spend time to make an original score to make the film amazing. Tragically Disney has recently been falling in my "Poor Animation" catagory.
What's also great are the voice actors. I absolutly love (and envy) Liz Callaway's singing for Anistasia. Just beautiful. And Bernadette Peters (as Sophie) was hilarious! But her singing is still great. Of course, she is a Broadway star.
What really ticks me off is the fact that people say that it's not historically correct. DUH! "Based on a true story." "BASED" being the key word meaning the makers of the film use a little bit of fact and the rest they can do anything to it! But even if the whole was historically correct, it would still be amazing.

Pat2's avatar
Toon Addict
Reviews: 76

Pat2's Review

rated it:
posted: Oct 31, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

"Anastasia" isn't a bad film, it's an OK film. But the fact that it is inspired on a real story makes it look dumb (Sorcerer Rasputin, for example) and that "we were better off with the Tsar" stuff. But it has positive points. For example: the songs. "Journey to the past", "At the beginnig" and "Once upon a December" were fine.
It should be watched at least once, then see if you can handle the dicomposing Rasputin and Bartok the bat. I know that Bartok had his own movie, but I haven't seen it yet.

servewithchips's avatar
Toon Addict
Reviews: 93

servewithchips' Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 16, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I just discovered a new Disney Animated film! Actually I am well aware that Anastasia was produced by 20th Century Fox, but I am also sure that some reading this are scratching their heads and wondering if I just might be wrong. This film was released in 1997 a few months after Disney's Hercules, and collected a respectable $58 million domestically (by comparison Hercules took $99 million). Anastasia was directed by Don Bluth and Gary Goldman (not Coleman) who brought us The Land Before Time, The American Tail, and later Titan A.E. This film seems to have borrowed most heavily from the Disney cookbook as most of the Disney ingredients are here. Princess? Check. Evil supernatural villain? Check? Talking animal sidekick? Check. Musical performances? Check. But unlike most Disney films, this is set in the real world. 1920's Russia to be exact. I am not too clear on my 20th century Russian history, but I think there were some Bolsheviks, and a revolution, or something like that. While the ingredients are here, this film should not be dismissed as a Disney knock off. Its really a bit darker, and more real world based and brings its own flavor to the party. Having just seen it for the first time, it was not the girly saccharine fairy tale I was expecting.

Anastasia (the princess) is the daughter of the Romanovs, who were ousted from power. Being young during the revolution, and not knowing her true identity, she becomes part of a con to reunite with her Grandmother "posing" as the real Anastasia. Voiced by Kirsten Dunst (young) and Meg Ryan (older) Anastasia is a likeable character who makes this story worth telling. And like any good princess, she gets her fair share of glamorous gowns to model (dolls for sale?).

I am not sure how historically accurate this film is, but I am pretty sure that Rasputin the Mad Monk (the films villain) was not a zombie (but to be fair, I think I remember from History class that he was one tough dude to kill and on further investigation according to the wikipedia he survived cyanide poisoning, being shot three times, and being beaten only to finally drown while trying to claw his way out from under a sheet of ice). He is a great villain, fun to watch and just menacing enough to be a threat, though he doesn't monopolize the story-- which is a good thing. He drives the tension in a train wreck sequence and in a big fight at the end, but doesn't interfere from the truly dramatic moments such as the reunion between Anastasia and her grandmother.

In the film, Rasputin has an albino bat (talking sidekick) named Bartok, voiced by Moe the bartender, who was popular enough to have his own sequel, but I was underwhelmied by his performance. I am not even sure he was supposed to be comic relief. He just never approached funny. Besides, I am not sure what business a talking bat had in this film's realistic setting other than to meet the Disney film checklist.

Several good musical numbers performed by the characters are peppered through the film. They are not so much catchy as they are appropriate and mood developing, my favorite being the haunting Once upon a December. This songs tune is integral to the score, and comes from a music box which is a key plot element. So, while Anastasia may be Disneyesque in its use of music, the choices for songs are different and more suited to the film's darker edge than would be songs along the lines of Be Our Guest (and while Angela Lansbury voices a part in this film she doesn't sing but Frasier Crane's character does).

One note on the animation style-- It makes use of rotoscoping, a technique in which actors are filmed and animated over, to give the animation more realistic movements (this same tool was used much more noticeably in A-Ha's Take on me video). It's sort of a pre-motion capture technique, and also adds to the realistic feel of the film.

Rotten Tomatoes gives this film a generous 93. I would have to say that while I enjoyed it, Anastasia was not awe inspiring or anything like that. As a romantic drama I think it is more suited for women than men, but I feel no shame in giving Anastasia a B.

Juuchan17's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 157

Juuchan17's Review

rated it:
posted: Mar 06, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Ah, the story of Anastasia . . . I do believe that thanks to this film, people were actually wondering if the real Anastasia was still alive. Of course, this will never be known.

This is a total fantasy tale, based on a play version of the story about a young girl discovering her past and finding her family. With the added magic, the boy-toy conman, and the symbolic animal companion in the form of the puppy Pooka. The songs were good, especially "Journey to the Past" and "Once Upon a December".

The characters are each good and add their own little personality to the film. Anya is the star - an orphaned, headstrong girl who wishes to find her family - and Dimitri is the main male, with all of his secrets and charms. Rasputin gave the film its creepy factor as the rotting corpse of a sorceror who wants to destroy Anastasia for his own reasons. The other characters, to me, are not too major, but offer a mixed palette of different people and creatures.

The art and backgrounds are beautiful and the special effects are amazing and vibrant. The story, however, is the weak point. It's obvious what's going to happen, but it's good to see what happens, even though it never happened in real-life (because the princess was never found).

Other than that, Anastasia is a decently fun romp. It's worth a buy and several watches for the animation and the voice cast (which was fabulous BTW), but I hope the story doesn't bore you too much. It really could have been so much better storywise.

Three stars.

greykitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 193

greykitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 02, 2005
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I didn't really care for this one all that much. I have to admit that I really enjoyed the character of Anastasia, and a few others. Overall though it just didn't seem to work. I really disliked the villians. With this movie the villian delved into the spirit side of things too much for me. Rasputin was disgusting with always falling apart in some slimy way. If they hadn't had Rasputin in there and had some other villia it would have been a lot better of a movie.
The songs however, were pretty good except for in the Dark of the Night. The score was also very good and the animation was great. It's ok for maybe a rent, but I wouldn't buy it.

page: 1 | 2