Latest Featured Reviews RSS icon

page: 1 | 2 | 3
J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Rabbit's Feat © Warner Bros.
rated it:
posted: Jan 27, 2017

This is another favorite Bugs Bunny cartoon that features Wile E. Coyote as an adversary. You know, this is one of the last three Bug/Wile E. cartoons before the original Warner Bros. cartoon studio shut down in 1964.

I love the part where Wile E. lunges at Bugs and falls into the cauldron of water intended for the rabbit. And Wile E.'s eyes and nose peered out of the water to glare at Bugs during his: "Oh Father! You're stewed again!" I also love it when Wile E. mentions the "dynamite-in-the-carrot" idea, Bugs screams and Wile E. freaks, falls on his face, and then Bugs: "That it'd hurt." So anyway, this is another Bugs Bunny favorite.

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Hare-Way to the Stars © Warner Bros.
rated it:
posted: Jan 27, 2017

This is my favorite Bugs Bunny cartoon that features Marvin the Martian as an adversary. Of course, it is vying with the last Bugs/Marivn cartoon from 1963 "Mad as a Mars Hare," but I love this cartoon better. I also love Maurice Noble's layout work for Mars, very good stuff there. I also like the sound of Marivn's "Where's the kaboom?" I'm funny that way. And the "mirror" scene between Bugs and one of the dehydrated Martians.

I am sorry to said that I have nothing else to say about this cartoon, other than the animation is perfect. So anyway, I thought this is another Bugs Bunny favorite.

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet © Bardel Animation Ltd. / Ventanarosa Productions / Participant Media / Hanson / Gibran National Committee / Creative Projects Group / Code Red / Doha Film Institute / MyGroup Lebanon / Prophet Screen Partners / FFA Private Bank
rated it:
posted: Jan 21, 2017

I was curious about this film, after I had watched the trailer online, and I was fortunate to find it on Netflix. I thought it was a visually astounding movie, and I was glad that there was a chance for 2D animation in 2014, when it comes to animated movies.

The film's story is about an exiled poet/artist named Mustafa and his relationship with a struggling widow (and his housekeeper) Kamila and her mute daughter Almitra. The film is also about the impact Mustafa's words had on the townspeople, but the town's militant government thinks those words are seditious...stupid!

I thought the casting was excellent with Liam Neeson, Salma Hayek and Frank Langella. I don't have any particular scene I like, because I love it from beginning to end. So like I had said this film visually astounding with great animation.

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol © UPA
rated it:
posted: Dec 09, 2016

Mr. Magoo is one of my favorite cartoons characters, and this special is now another Christmas favorite; I had watched it two times. In the first TV special for Christmas, Mr. Magoo plays the role of Ebenezer Scrooge in a musical stage production of "A Christmas Carol," one of my favorite Christmas stories. I thought the songs were great, and so is the animation.

I'm afraid there is nothing else to say about this special other than I really love it! I love it better than "A Flintstone Christmas Carol," when it comes to a Christmas special about a stage version of Dickens' holiday story.

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
rated it:
posted: Dec 03, 2016

You know, I used to have the "Troll" dolls as a kid, but not anymore. I have seen the trailer for this movie (the trolls' first movie) online, and I thought it was a great, colorful juke-box musical; and it is.

The film started 20 years ago when the happy little trolls were being harvested from their tree by the ogre-ish Bergens as food. They eat the trolls by a means to be happy. Fortunately the trolls led by their king Peppy escape through a tunnel during a Bergen festival, where their young prince would taste his first troll. Now years later in their new forest village, the optimistic and extremely happy Princess Poppy organizes a big party to celebrate their escape. But the village's grey, glum, survivalist nay-sayer Branch thinks it's a terrible idea, for the loud music and bright, glitterly lights would alert the Bergens. And it has when a Bergen chef who was banished on that very date 20 years ago, spotted the party's lights and captures nine of the trolls, who are Poppy's friends. So Poppy takes it upon herself to ask Branch to go with her to Bergen Town to save her friends. Of course Branch refuses and Poppy sets off by herself. But after an encounter with a bunch of spider-like monsters, Branch saves Poppy knowing she wouldn't last long beyond their village. So the two trolls decide to continue the journey to Bergen Town. And that is all I could tell you folks.

All I have to say is that I love the film's animation, humor and music.

J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 188
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
The Secret Life of Pets © Universal / Illumination Entertainment
rated it:
posted: Sep 25, 2016

I got curious about this movie after seeing the trailers. Then my mom and I saw it in the theatre; I thought it is another great animated movie of the year. Also Max & Gidget are my favorite characters.

The story is about Max living a good life in his New York apartment with his beloved owner Katie. That is until Katie brings home a big, shaggy stray name Duke, who Max thought is trying to muscle in on his happy home. One day during a walk with the dog-walker, the resentive Duke tricks Max into travelling far into the city, and they are attacked by a feral cat gang in an alley. The cats remove Max and Duke's collars and the dogs are caught by the city's Animal Control. Fortunately the two dogs were saved by a rogue band called "The Flushed Pets". That is all I could tell you folks.

I don't have a favorite scene (as I said many times), because I love the whole film from beginning to end. I also love the movie's humor and great animation. One more thing to point out is that Max was so cute as a puppy! So overall, this is a great film for all pet lovers.

Maxtaro93's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 6
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Mune: Guardian of the Moon © Onyx Films / Orange Studio / Kinology / ON Animation Studios
rated it:
posted: Jun 29, 2016

Mune is one of the strangest animated projects ever churned out by the French, and not at all in the usual way. Its ambitions show, boasting a colorful, dazzling world of ideas unlike anything conceived by modern Hollywood animation, but it overindulges in these ambitions and ideas without making way for storytelling along these lines.

The titular character and his life's duties strike as familiar and problematic enough; he is given this name before he knows what occupation he's set himself up in. His plucky love interest and "ladies' man" sidekick can't help but end up as outdated, sexist sterotypes (case in point: the classic eyelash flutter), and all the villains fall under nearly every animated villain trope in the book. C2C's "Happy" also has a place on the soundtrack to make sure the film is as profitable as possible. How can a film this visually inspired blow its chance to be as original as it looks this hard?

On the bright side, the film occasionally makes use of its visual creativity just as well as it should, with some much-needed captivation to boot and some absolutely stunning hand-drawn animation sequences. However, it's an European Book of Life - a film that strives to accomplish rare feats in CG animation but does not take enough time to avoid the kind of clichés and narrative issues bound to water it down. No wonder it was the only film at the festival I had seen that nobody applauded.

Vulpecula's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 32
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Ratchet and Clank © Sony Computer Entertainment / Rainmaker Entertainment / Blockade Entertainment
rated it:
posted: Jun 28, 2016

It has been a long time that I've written a review here, and I thought I would write one on a movie based on one of my favorite video game franchises, Ratchet & Clank. *Although just a simple short review so no spoilers here*

It is a shame that the film is doing poorly in the box office and gotten negative reviews from most critics (you can blame the "Disney Revival" for that). I thought the movie was pretty good. Not as good as the game it was based on of course, but still good. The film tells the story origin of Ratchet and Clank, much like the first game and the recent PS4 game did, but in greater detail. You will have to find out and see for yourself.

If you're a fan of Ratchet & Clank, then check it out. You will like this film if you are.

Toonboy's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 319
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Star vs. the Forces of Evil © Disney / Daron Nefcy Productions
rated it:
posted: Jun 19, 2016

I picked up watching this show in bits and pieces here and there, with nothing really standing out to me enough to become a constant fan. But let's face it. Disney XD shows are really good at that quality. Upon watching the season one finale recently, however, something about the episode forced me to pay closer attention to the show. It could've been the pitch perfect voice acting, over the top as it may be with Marco's parents. It could've been the not too shabby animation. Whatever it is, it culminated in some of the most earnest cartooning in an action/comedy hybrid format this side of The Powerpuff Girls, 2016 reboot notwithstanding.

At a basic level, SvtFOE reminds me of an odd mix or Courage the Cowardly Dog and Sailor Moon, were Sailor Moon somehow made into a witch that looks like Betty Spaghetti and saddled with freakish magical powers strong enough to destroy the very fabric of all space and time(as well as turn stuff into fluffy laser shooting puppies).

As I was watching Marco and Star do their... dimension hopping thing(done via a black hole carving pair of scissors), I realized that Marco and Star had chemistry, chemistry I haven't seen in a cartoon since, well, probably Batman and Robin or the aforementioned Powerpuff Girls. In any standard cartoon, Star would've been the damsel in distress, written in only for romance, with Marco being the one to save the day. Or a male and female hero team would've gone off into obvious directions, such as irreconcilable differences between girly and macho. While there might still be time later on to sneak in the mushy stuff, it is never heavily leaned on that there could be romantic tension between the two. Despite her magical pretty princess outward appearance, Star is also quite capable of delivering a punch to the face. Marco is karate expert but is also just a normal human boy(and is thus probably the more likely of the two to get captured). He also likes a ringtone called Space Unicorn.

The characterizations of these two honestly made me start to care for them. Certainly enough to laugh at the lame jokes and sight gags, as if they were played straight. And certainly enough to go along for the ride during the episode's intriguingly gripping climax, upon reflection of which, I never realized this show's episodes HAD climaxes. It was such a shame the writers had to sabotage the emotional impact somewhat by resorting to a deus ex machina. Even so, I can't wait to see what weirdness Season Two brings. They really should try and kick up the villains.

lonely_princess's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 106
Share this review
Share review on Facebook
Bambi © Disney
rated it:
posted: Jun 17, 2016

Firstly I want to point out I never cried when Bambi's Mum got shot as she was used too many times in other films such as Jungle Book and Rescuers to name a few to make me beleive she was really dead when I was a child.

Now thats over with lets get on with the review shall we.

Animation wise this is absolultly stunning its like watching a work of art. Except sometimes theres confusion whether they want realistic looking characters e.g The Great Prince or cartoony ones e.g Thumper. The backgrounds are the best I have ever seen in an animated film to the point I wish I could remove the action and watch them instead.

Musicly this is beautiful especially my faverite background music of any film "The Gallop Of The Stags". The songs are nice though the singers can get a bit too operatic at times thank God for subtitles.

Story wise this is a nice coming of age story though like the Nostalgia Critic said after Bambi's Mum is shot and he meets up with his Dad we are hardly given time to take it in when they start bombarding us with happy thoughts so it felt like we wernt given time to breathe and take it in.

I highly recommend this film

page: 1 | 2 | 3